HOW TO DISCOVER YOUR LIFE PURPOSE

So many people are drifting, aimlessly through life with no purpose & no passion, moved only by the fickle currents of life. To which, I hear some people exclaim, “get a life!”…no!…I say get a purpose!

 

There are many methods to ascertain our life purpose, however I suggest a very simple technique that will only take 20 – 60 minutes. Before I share the method, I would like to preface with a story about Bruce Lee;

 

A master in martial arts asked Bruce Lee if he would teach him everything he knew about martial arts. In response to the question, Bruce held up two cups filled with liquid and taught, “The cup in my left hand represents all of your knowledge of martial arts, the cup in my right hand represents all of my knowledge of martial arts. If you want to fill your cup with my knowledge, you first empty your cup”.

 

If you want to discover your true purpose in life, you must be open to emptying yourself of any false ideas.

 

Here is the process:

 

1. Take out a blank sheet of paper (or open an empty word processing screen).

 

2. Write at the top, “My purpose in life”

 

3. Write whatever moves into your heart. It doesn’t have to be pretty or grammatically correct.

 

4. Look at what you wrote and allow it to dwell in your heart for a moment. Notice how it feels. Does it cause your heart to swell? Does it make you cry? Does it ignite a feeling of passion?

 

5. If you don’t have any of those feelings, repeat step 3 until you do.

 

It may take 100, 200, even 500 repetitions to empty yourself of all the false purposes before you reach your true calling.  Here is what arrived for me after about 30 minutes;

 

“My purposeis to be an “apprentice” (disciple) of the Master Builder and to love, serve & inspire those I have the privilege to impact in some way. In so doing, I seek to deliver healing, wholeness, hope & Kingdom possibility to the world”

 

I hope you will practice this exercise and find your true purpose in life.

 

Leave a comment